Kid Reading Program

Preschool Reading Program

Learn to Love Reading Program

This Learn to Love Reading reading program uses a collection of over 130 titles, graded in seven different levels and covering a wide range of subjects, both fiction and non-fiction.

Reading Program: For children - For Parents - For Schools

Learn more about this reading program

Children are won over by the fresh, engaging writing and illustration on perennially popular subjects.

Parents can support their child's reading in the vital early stages, knowing the books are underpinned by Usborne values and a sound framework.

Teachers can use the books in class, for homework and in the library to stretch the able and engage those in need of support.

Beautifully produced, and with lively writing and fabulous illustrations, the books are designed to capture the imagination and build the confidence of beginner readers, and motivate and inspire those who find reading difficult or dull.

Seven levels that Inspire Reading

The books are graded in seven levels. There is a gradual but clear progression in terms of subject, style, narrative length, sentence structure and vocabulary, giving children the satisfaction of mastering real books and making measurable progress.

Learn more about this reading program

  • First Reading
    • Level One titles are designed to be the first real books a beginner reader will tackle, with very light support from an adult. Each book has a single story with six pages of reading-related puzzles.
    • Level Two stretch the reader a little more, with more advanced storylines, sentences and vocabulary, plus reading-related puzzles.
    • Level Three titles have longer stories that encourage children to develop reading stamina. Stories have a strong element of repetition to help the reader gain confidence.
    • Level Four titles build readers' stamina still further, with 48 pages devoted entirely to the story, more text on each page and more descriptive vocabulary.
  • Young Reading Series
    • Series One titles are for children just starting to read on their own. They use everyday vocabulary, and contain several short stories or one story divided into chapters.
    • Series Two titles are for children who are reading more confidently. Most titles contain a single story divided into chapters, with varied sentence lengths and more challenging vocabulary.
    • Series Three titles are for fully confident readers who still need to gain the stamina for standard length books. They use advanced sentence structure and vocabulary, and have more complex plots.
Superb quality books

Each beautifully designed hardback book has a ribbon marker and combines vivid, engaging writing with captivating full-colour illustration on every page, featuring the work of artists from around the world and superb contemporary or archive photography.

Audio CDs

Young Reading audio CDs contain two readings: a dramatic listen-along version with music, sound effects and superbly characterised readings, and a read-along version, with a page-turn indicator, for the child to listen to while following the story in the book.

Internet links

A number of titles have recommended websites packed with historical details, dramatic reconstructions and puzzles and games. There are links to the recommended sites on the Usborne Quicklinks Website.

Learn more about this reading program

See our Elementary Reading Program

Adventures in Literature

As your build your reading library, think of it as an adventure in literature. You can explore the story, explore the subject and maybe research further on the Internet, or study the writing itself. Maybe someday you, your child, or your students (if you are a teacher) will become an author. Theme Ideas:
  • Fiction
  • Legends & Characters
  • Horror & Setting
  • Mystery & Lead
  • Fantasy & Plot
  • How-To & Order
  • Non-fiction & Imagery
  • News & Purpose
  • Biography & Research
  • Classics & Tenets of Writing
Skill set ideas:
  • Reading comprehension
  • Writing
  • Creativity
  • Self-expression & intrapersonal skills
  • Editing
  • Vocabulary
  • Critical thinking
  • Organizational skills
  • Sequential thinking

Books Grouped by Topic to Assist Your Reading Programs

Adventures of Fairy Princess
Fairy Princesses Reading Programs

Adventures on Apple Tree Farm
Farms and Farm Animals Reading Programs

Adventures at Sea
Oceans and Seas Reading Program Theme

Adventures of the human body
Human Body Reading Program Books

Adventures with dinosaurs
Dinosaur Theme Reading Programs

Plus one this:

Connect with us:
Follow on Facebook Follow on Twitter Follow on Pinterest Follow on YouTube
Follow on Google+ Connect on LinkedIn

paypal accepted owned by Tracy Foote
2000-2014 TracyTrends; All rights reserved.